16
Dec
09

Comfort Foods for the holidays

Comfort Foods: Healthy Recipes for Your Favorite Comfort Foods

I don’t know about most of you but at this time of year I really like my comfort foods so here are some of my favs …maybe you have some you would like to share with us let me know  and we will post them.
 
Big Fudgy Bittersweet Brownies


1 large egg

1 egg white

3 tablespoons plain nonfat yogurt

1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

1 1/2 cups sugar

1/3 cup canola oil

1/2 teaspoon sea salt

1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

3 ounces high-quality unsweetened baking chocolate, chopped

1/3 cup unbleached all-purpose flour

1/3 cup buckwheat or presifted whole wheat flour

Make it: Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Lightly coat an 8-inch-square nonstick baking pan with cooking spray. In a small bowl, whisk together egg, egg white, yogurt, and vanilla extract; set aside.

In a small saucepan, combine sugar, oil, salt, and 3 tablespoons water, stirring constantly for 3 minutes on medium-high heat. Remove from heat; stir in cocoa and chocolate until chocolate melts, then add egg mixture. Add all flour, stirring until batter is smooth.

Pour batter into baking pan. Bake 25 minutes, or until top is firm. Cool completely in pan on rack. Cut into squares.
Caramel Popcorn


1/2 cup unpopped popcorn kernels

5 tablespoons peanut oil

1 3/4 cups light brown sugar

5 tablespoons unsalted butter

1/3 cup honey

1/2 teaspoon sea salt

1 teaspoon baking soda

Make it: In a stockpot or an extra-large saucepan, heat popcorn kernels in 3 tablespoons of oil. Stir to coat all kernels. Cover and cook over medium heat, 5 to 7 minutes, or until kernels are fully popped (shaking pot after 3 minutes).

Lightly coat two large baking pans with cooking spray. Pour popcorn into pans and preheat oven to 200 degrees F.

In a medium saucepan, combine brown sugar, butter, honey, remaining oil, and salt. Cook over medium-high heat, stirring constantly with a wooden or silicone spoon, 2 to 3 minutes. Stir in baking soda until smooth.

Evenly drizzle over popcorn; stir to coat. Bake for 1 hour, stirring every 15 minutes
Root Beer Float

12 ounces diet root beer

1/2 cup light vanilla ice cream

Make it: Combine, and enjoy!

Chocolate Chip Cookies


2 1/4 cups flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 cups canola oil

3/4 cup brown sugar

3/4 cup granulated sugar

1 tsp. vanilla extract

2 eggs, beaten

2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

1 cup chopped pecans

Make it: Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. In a bowl, combine flour, baking soda, and salt. In another bowl, beat together oil, sugars, and vanilla until creamy. Beat in eggs. Gradually add flour mixture. Stir in chocolate chips and nuts. Roll into small balls; flatten slightly onto an ungreased cookie sheet. Bake 9 to 11 minutes, or until edges are golden brown. Freeze the extras.

14 Responses to “Comfort Foods for the holidays”


  1. December 16, 2009 at 12:50 am

    Hello Terri!

    These recipes look delicious! I am going to try them, this is something I’ve been waiting for. Thanks a million, dear friend!

    Hugs,
    Jenny

  2. December 16, 2009 at 2:15 am

    You are so welcome Jenny..Have a blessed holiday!!!

  3. December 16, 2009 at 2:35 am

    Well…once again you have me going crazy! Thanks for the great recipes you give out! Hope all is going happy and well! 🙂

  4. December 16, 2009 at 5:07 am

    I hope you can use some of them…All is well here hope it is wonderful for you as well!!

  5. 5 alina1985
    December 16, 2009 at 3:19 pm

    Wooooooooooooow.This one looks delicious.
    I will try it too 😉
    Thank you,Terri!!!

    Enjoy your time!!! 🙂

  6. December 17, 2009 at 4:28 am

    I was looked for the second time at all this delicious food.Yamyyy yam!!!
    You was just gived me an idea,my friend!!!
    Next days you will see about what i was talked now.
    🙂

    Enjoy your time,Terri!!!

  7. December 17, 2009 at 4:59 am

    can’t wait to see what ideas you have!! 🙂

  8. December 19, 2009 at 12:01 am

    wow! I really love those cookies. I’ll have to request my wife to bake me that recipe!

  9. December 19, 2009 at 8:31 am

    Okay, you’re going to laugh maybe. but my comfort food is potatoes. 🙂

  10. December 19, 2009 at 6:29 pm

    I guess I should have put some potatoes up there because I really love potatoes!!! 🙂 I’ll see what I can find.

  11. December 20, 2009 at 3:04 am

    your healthy brownies look every bit as good as my unhealthy ones

  12. December 20, 2009 at 8:08 am

    They are you should try them and let know what you think…Have a Merry Christmas! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Potential Clients

  • 33,387 hits

About Me

Me

What can I say about me? I am a caring, fun-loving person with goals of relieving my clients pain through the skilled touch of massage. My hope is that this blog will bring information to those who know nothing about massage and help them to make an educated decision about what modality of massage will benefit them the most. You will find healthy recipes, quick and easy work-outs, and the latest in meditation techniques to assist with relaxation. I hope you enjoy my site. Please leave a comment or suggestion, your input will be greatly appreciated.

Recent Post

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Categories

Awards

Welcome Guests!

awards

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers


