05
Jan
10

12 Foods for a Flat Belly

12 Foods for a Flat Belly

ย Eat your way to sexy abs with these 12 healthy superfoods.
By Lara Rosenbaum

Chicken, Fish, and Eggs
“Your body has to work harder to digest protein, so you’ll burn more calories just by eating it,” says Leslie Bonci, RD, director of sports nutrition at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center and a FITNESS advisory board member. Aim for 60 to 70 grams of lean protein a day — a 3-ounce chicken breast has 27 grams, a 5-ounce piece of tilapia provides 37 grams, and an egg delivers 7 grams.

Olive Oil, Walnuts, and Avocado
“These foods contain monounsaturated fats, which help your body metabolize fat, especially from your midsection,” says Bonci. You should consume at least 10 grams — about 1 tablespoon of olive oil or 2 tablespoons of peanut butter — per day.

Apples, Baked Sweet Potatoes, and Hearty Whole Wheat Bread
The fiber in these foods (4 grams, 4 grams, and 5 grams, respectively) takes hours to digest, keeping you satisfied longer. Go for 25 to 30 grams of fiber a day.

Chickpeas & Almonds
They’re packed with fiber and protein — which means they both fill you up and help your body metabolize fat, says Bonci.

Yogurt
“Not only is it rich in calcium, it’s also easy to digest and leaves your stomach quickly, so you won’t bloat,” says Bonci. Look for a low-fat variety that’s also low in sugar. (Particularly yummy is FAGE Total 0% Greek Yogurt with a drizzle of honey or a handful of berries.)

22 Responses to “12 Foods for a Flat Belly”


  1. January 6, 2010 at 1:01 am

    Well, I am happy to say that I pretty much eat all of these foods. I do believe that they help me maintain my weight. I do get a bit carried away with avacados! Too good!

  2. January 6, 2010 at 2:05 am

    Do chickpeas fried up as falafal count?

  3. January 6, 2010 at 9:54 am

    I EAT THIS STUFF EVERYDAY BUT I AM STILL A FATMAN……DO I HAVE TO EXERCISE TO IMPROVE THE FOODS WORK?

    • January 6, 2010 at 6:15 pm

      It couldn’t hurt…are you eating large portions?? Try eating as many calories times 1000 of the weight you want to be…. to lose some weight say I weigh 135 but I want to weigh 120 then I would eat 1200 calories a day.

  4. January 6, 2010 at 10:30 am

    I need to take heed to this so I can make a 6-pack outta my keg.

  5. January 6, 2010 at 10:31 am

    Sorry about the name thing. I forgot I had changed it to irritate Bearman. Or somebody. But, probably Bearman, though. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. 15 Pamela
    January 6, 2010 at 10:50 am

    I am a food lover. Thanks for the information dear.

  7. 17 Collin
    January 6, 2010 at 10:56 am

    Yummmy foods. Thanks for suggesting these lovely food names. I will surely follow these.

  8. January 7, 2010 at 4:22 pm

    I like what i see ๐Ÿ˜‰ I eat every day abit from it.
    Very good for the health.

    Have a wonderful day,Terri!

  9. January 8, 2010 at 7:57 am

    Whoo, we all need this Terri. Thanks a million for the post!!!

  10. January 8, 2010 at 6:12 pm

    You are so welcome! ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

Potential Clients

  • 33,420 hits

About Me

Me

What can I say about me? I am a caring, fun-loving person with goals of relieving my clients pain through the skilled touch of massage. My hope is that this blog will bring information to those who know nothing about massage and help them to make an educated decision about what modality of massage will benefit them the most. You will find healthy recipes, quick and easy work-outs, and the latest in meditation techniques to assist with relaxation. I hope you enjoy my site. Please leave a comment or suggestion, your input will be greatly appreciated.

Recent Post

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories

Welcome Guests!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers


