11
Apr
10

Mussels South of two borders

This is for you Jammer I hope you enjoy!!

 

 Mussels South of two borders

 

Ingredients

1/3 cup diced Spanish chorizo, (see Ingredient note)

1 medium onion, diced

1 small plum tomato, diced

2 tablespoons chopped canned green chiles, drained

1 teaspoon ground cumin

1/2 teaspoon freshly ground pepper

1 cup beer, preferably dark Mexican beer, such as Negra Modelo

2 pounds mussels, scrubbed and debearded if necessary (see Tip)

1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro

Directions

1. Cook chorizo in a large saucepan over medium heat until beginning to brown, 3 to 5 minutes. Add onion; cook, stirring often, until softened, about 3 minutes. Stir in tomato, chiles, cumin and pepper; cook, stirring occasionally, until the tomato begins to break down, about 3 minutes. Pour in beer, increase heat to medium-high, and bring to a boil, scraping up any browned bits.

2. Stir in mussels and return to a simmer. Cover, reduce heat to medium-low, and cook just until the mussels have opened, about 7 minutes. Remove from the heat and stir in cilantro. (Discard any unopened mussels.) Serve the mussels with the sauce.

Tips:
Ingredient note: For this recipe we use fully cooked Spanish-style chorizo–spicy pork sausage seasoned with smoked paprika and chile–recognizable for its characteristic red color. Find it near other cured sausages in well-stocked supermarkets, specialty-food stores or online at tienda.com.

Tip: To clean mussels, scrub with a stiff brush under cold running water. Scrape off any barnacles using the shell of another mussel. Pull off the fuzzy “beard” from each one (some mussels may not have a beard).

Nutrition Facts

Calories 212, Total Fat 4 g, Saturated Fat 1 g, Cholesterol 24 mg, Sodium 439 mg, Carbohydrate 17 g, Fiber 3 g, Protein 18 g, Potassium 451 mg. Daily Values: Vitamin C 35%, Iron 25%. Exchanges: Vegetable 1,Lean Meat 2.
Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet


15 Responses to “Mussels South of two borders”


  1. April 11, 2010 at 10:31 pm

    Now THAT”S what I’m talking about. Sounds excellent and I will try them as soon as fresh mussels show up at my local fish monger 🙂 Gracias, Terri.

    • April 11, 2010 at 11:25 pm

      You are so welcome!! I found a couple more if you are intrested I will post later..just let me know…Hope you have a beautiful day!

      • April 20, 2010 at 1:12 am

        My fish monger called me last week and fresh mussels showed up (I wonder if they hitch-hiked?) I tried the recipe, subbing Anchor Steam beer, out of San Fransisco, for the dark Mexican, as I like the taste better 🙂 and they were awesome!!! Gracias, Terri.

  2. 4 Sandra
    April 12, 2010 at 1:35 pm

    Thanks for sharing the recipe.

  3. 6 Collin
    April 12, 2010 at 1:35 pm

    Yummyyyyyyyy……..thanks for sharing Terri. 🙂

  4. 8 Pamela
    April 12, 2010 at 1:36 pm

    Wow!!! Recipe….my favorite. Thanks for sharing the recipe Terri.

    Between, how is your new job going on??

    • April 12, 2010 at 5:07 pm

      You are very welcome…last week was really busy at the new job…arms were really tired at the end of the week but I felt very energized. I t was a great week!! Thanks for asking. 🙂

  5. April 14, 2010 at 12:13 am

    Here in France they eat lot of mussels,but i don’t like it at all! 😀
    Interesting post anyway! 😉

    Have a special day,my dear!!! 🙂

  6. April 14, 2010 at 9:36 am

    You are a hit with this recipe. 🙂 Maybe I will give it a go! Thanks! 🙂

  7. June 29, 2010 at 8:08 am

    Wow…I love your blog and will be coming back for more:)


Leave a Reply

Potential Clients

  • 33,663 hits

About Me

Me

What can I say about me? I am a caring, fun-loving person with goals of relieving my clients pain through the skilled touch of massage. My hope is that this blog will bring information to those who know nothing about massage and help them to make an educated decision about what modality of massage will benefit them the most. You will find healthy recipes, quick and easy work-outs, and the latest in meditation techniques to assist with relaxation. I hope you enjoy my site. Please leave a comment or suggestion, your input will be greatly appreciated.

Recent Post

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   Jul »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Categories

Welcome Guests!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers


